Untitled.

“Print journalism is dying, so I don’t know why you think you have a future there. You don’t.”

Rather than getting discouraged, my stubborn personality only became more motivated to become the best print journalist this world has seen.

I firmly believe that although the medium of journalism via print may die out, our society will constantly be in need of information, news, and opinions. Words will never die; therefore, writing will never die. Sure, we’re transitioning rapidly into a world of brightly-lit screens and tweets, but there will always be a need for people like me.

People who have an obsession with writing. People who crave it like water on a hot day. People who don’t want to write, but people that need to write. I am one of those people. Writing isn’t a hobby, past-time, or interest. Writing is my life. Writing is me.

Writing is my number one solution – my ultimate “go-to”. It is my medicine, my relief, and my addiction. If the tears start welling up, give me a pen. If I’m grinning ear-to-ear, hand me a notebook.

Although writing is a great love, I’m not perfect at it. Sometimes, I use ‘are’ instead of ‘is’, I forget to write in my journal, and I don’t post on my blog for months. But I think there is something to be said for the fact that I keep coming back. It’s as if writing owns a part of my soul it knows I can’t live without. I don’t think the idea of writing, or even writing itself is meant to be perfect. Writing is flawed, like me. You know, maybe that’s why I love it so much. Because writing and I are just so much alike. I am writing.

Leave a Reply

